Fashion Taking Inspiration from Fine Art World and the Past

I subscribe to Art in America, just to see what is going on in the Fine Art World. Although I am very much rooted in the past for my inspiration or maybe just admiration, particularly with female artists…Georgia O’Keeffe, Emily Carr, Beatrice Wood, and of course Frida Kahlo.

Having read a biography on Frida, I was delighted when the film came out about her life with Diego. I also was lucky enough to have seen the Frida Kahlo exhibit in June 2008 at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art.

What does this have to do with fashion? Well, I was looking through photos of fashion trends and came across this dress shown below, which for me conjured up the feelings and dualities of Frida Kahlo’s self portraits. This particular dress, by Sarah Schofield, an emerging Australian designer in the global fashion industry, is for me, at once both sensual and thought provoking. On the other hand, maybe I see everything through the filter of fine art.

Photo by: Stefan Gosatti, Getty Images

Photo by: Stefan Gosatti, Getty Images

Comments are closed.